Small pleasures week #3

bigdeli
If you’re ever in Leicester this is a must visit

1. Salvador Deli

You can keep your ‘Currant Affairs’ and ‘Melon Cauli’, Salvador Deli is without doubt the best shop name pun in Britain. Even their tag line is genius; surreal quality. Anyway, the point is I went there for lunch today, had a delicious toasted brie sandwich with red onion marmalade and enjoyed myself immensely. I was actually invited by a girl I work with and we chatted about nothing important and I think she might be the first new friend I’ve made in four years. Ooh that’s a depressing note to end on. Hopefully it will be the first of many. That’s better.

2. Daffodils

IMG_5955-0

I was stood in the queue in Sainsburys about to abandon my diet for the week and buy a bag of cookies when I spotted bunches of daffodils for £1 and decided to buy them instead. Then was very disappointed when they didn’t open up for a week and I just had a glass of green bulbs on my mantle piece. But now they’ve opened and they look lovely. So cheerful and spring-like. This is the first time I have ever bought myself flowers and I don’t think it will be the last.

3. Work

books 2Last week’s post was kind of a cheat as it was mostly me ranting about how hard I’m finding my job disguised as a celebration of my lunch hour. But this week I have an actual highlight from work. I was given a job to do that was so basic and mindnumbing that I could do it with headphones on. And instead of putting music on, I listened to the Emma audiobook. So basically I got paid £9 an hour to listen to Jane Austen. Living the dream.

Thanks, as always, to Mani (A New Life Wandering), for the great idea.

6 thoughts on “Small pleasures week #3

Leave a Reply

