Unbelievably good chocolate chip pancakes

IMG_6067

If there’s one thing we don’t do properly in this country it’s breakfast. Cereal and toast and porridge? No thanks. I’d much rather have the American alternatives – pancakes, waffles, French toast – all served with huge amounts of maple syrup and fresh fruit. That’s the correct way to start the day.

I also resent that the places in the UK that do serve these kind of breakfasts don’t bother to do so after 11am. I am not a morning person. Nor am I brunch person. But if I went out for dinner in the evening and there were still breakfast items on the menu I’d order them without a second thought. In fact, every time I’ve been to America I’ve eaten breakfast for dinner at least once a week.

So I have to instead make pancakes and waffles and French toast myself. Although I haven’t mastered French toast yet. I can do it well, just not as well as the Americans. And I don’t have a waffle maker. So it’s just pancakes. But they’re really good pancakes.

Makes enough for two (or, if you’re like me, one).

 

Ingredients

135g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

2 tbsp caster sugar

1 egg

130ml milk

2 tbsp olive oil

3-4 rows milk chocolate cut in to chips (or actual chocolate chips if you’re feeling fancy)

Knob of butter

1 heaped tbsp golden syrup

1 tsp cocoa powder

1 tsp icing sugar

 

Method

Mix together the dry ingredients

Add the egg and mix to a paste

Add the milk a little at a time and whisk until smooth

Add the chocolate chips if using

Heat the butter in the frying pan and when hot add the batter a ladle full at a time

When the top of the pancake starts to bubble, flip it to the other side

Once both sides are done remove from the pan, wrap in foil, heat another knob of butter and cook the next one, continuing until all the batter is gone.

While they’re cooking make the syrup sauce by whisking together the golden syrup, cocoa powder and icing sugar with a splash of water until silky and delicious.

Top the pancakes with fruit (bananas and strawberries are my favourites) and drizzle with the sauce.

One thought on “Unbelievably good chocolate chip pancakes

Leave a Reply

