Day 2: Disability

One of my earliest posts was in a similar vein to this but I think now that I’ve had a few months practice blogging I can improve on it.

But this time I’m going to take a completely new topic to write about, one that’s very close to my heart – care for the disabled.

I have three family members who are mentally disabled; an aunt and two uncles. Their needs range from being reasonably able to needing round the clock care. The aunt and one uncle live independently with carers going in to the house every day to support them with things like cleaning, shopping, cooking and being able to have any life at all.

The problem is that these carers are, in general, useless. There are exceptions of course but for the most part they do the absolute minimum they can get away with and take no pride in their work. And this is a problem that is ingrained in society. Caring for the elderly or disabled is not only a minimum wage job, it’s seen as the lowest of the low. I remember talking to a friend of a friend who was looking for a job who said that if he hadn’t found anything by the end of this week his mum was going to ‘get him a job in a care home’ said with such disdain, bordering on disgust.

I get it. It’s a hard job. I spend one afternoon with my aunt and I’m exhausted. She requires a huge level of attention. But it shouldn’t be at the point where people only take the job in desperation, as a last resort. These are vulnerable people – almost every week there’s an article on the news about someone who’s been abused in a care home – and they deserve better than being looked after by someone who’s been rejected for every other kind of job, who comes for the paycheque and that’s it.

I don’t have any ideas for how to fix this, I wish I did. But I wish more people realised there was a problem that needs fixing.

Day 2 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge.

3 thoughts on “Day 2: Disability

  1. As I was reading this, my thoughts were exactly what your last sentence were trying to achieve.
    As I got closer to the end of the post, I wondered where you were going with this. I thought to myself, ‘this isn’t something that I’d have even thought about, so I’m glad she’s written this.’

    Like

    1. I’m really pleased to hear that 🙂 This post alone has made me glad I’m doing this challenge as otherwise I probably wouldn’t ever have written on this topic but weirdly I really enjoyed writing

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

