Day 5: Irreplaceable

IMG_6274

My ex-boyfriend and I broke up almost a year ago and I’m still in the process of getting over it. Pathetic, I know.

But I’m getting there.

I go through fazes. To begin with I was fine with it, when I could remember just how bad it had got. It was almost a relief when he dumped me. And then I was travelling for two months and I was so busy that I didn’t have time to be heartbroken. But once I was home again it got harder. It almost felt like the longer it had been, the worse it felt and I’d just start to be feeling good again, getting back to normal, when I’d see something that reminded me of him, or have a really vivid dream about him, and I’d be back where I’d started.

But ten months on and I think I can finally see the end of the tunnel. Instead of moping around listening to my ‘Depressing Music’ playlist (yep, I have one of those – lots of Bon Iver and early Death Cab) I’m starting to feel more and more in an upbeat music kind of mood.

So this is what I’d like to say to you, the idiot who moved half way around the world and left me broken-hearted. Or I suppose this is what I’d like to be able to say to you and hopefully if I listen to it enough I’ll start to believe it.

See the past four days (and all the rest when they’re done) of the 30 Day Writing Challenge right here.

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Irreplaceable

  1. So sorry to hear you had to go through that, and trust me it took over a year myself, as grief seems to come in phases. It seems you have come out so empowered which is an amazing feeling and makes you even stronger than before. Thank you so much for sharing, and I love that Beyoncé song! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

