Liebster Award

liebsteraward

I got two more nominations!  I’m really ever so flattered. These are from Inked Words and Wrinkles which was one of the first blogs I started following and is still one of my favourites and Julia Mary Rose from Falling in Love with Words who writes book reviews and other great book related posts. Both of them are awesome. Go check them out. GO!

So I answer their eleven questions, nominate some blogs of my own and pose them eleven questions to answer. It’s a lot like chain mail but it’s complimentary so I’m going with it.

A lot of the questions are very similar topics so I’ve just mixed them all up in a completely random order (I’m feeling a bit slapdash today, sorry about that).

  1. What are some of your favourite books?

A very broad question! The majority of my favourite books are classics (I like books that are tried and tested) but also the Harry Potter series without a doubt and anything by Jacqueline Wilson as a quick trip down memory lane to my teenage years.

  1. Where is your favourite place to read?

Ideally it would be a window seat in a cottage overlooking the sea on a really blustery, stormy night with a cosy blanket and a cup of tea. But usually I have to settle for my chair in my bedroom on a drizzly day with a cosy blanket and a cup of tea.

  1. Do you use bookmarks or dogear the pages?

I absolutely never dogear the pages. I’d feel too guilty doing that to a book. But I only own one bookmark. I got it from my primary school for the millennium. I lose it every now and then for a couple of months before it turns up in the oddest of places. So in the meantime I use whatever’s nearby – receipts, strips of tablets, phone cables. I’ve even been known to use other books. Right now I’m using a tube of muscle gel.

  1. What books have you reread the most times?

If we’re including listening to the audiobook then Stormsearch by Robert Westall without a doubt. I’ve listened to that audiobook so many times I can actually recite the first two chapters word for word.

  1. Best nonfiction book you have ever read?

I think I have read a grand total of five nonfiction books in all my life, four of those were Bill Brysons and the other was How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran. And I just love everything about Caitlin Moran so definitely that one.

  1. Are there any series you have read where the sequel was better than the first?

I was going to say without a doubt no. But once I thought about it there are actually quite a few examples. The early Harry Potter books are good but the later ones are the reason why I go so crazy over the series. The Tudor Court novels by Philippa Gregory as well. I really enjoyed The Other Boleyn Girl but I found some of the later ones even better – The Constant Princess, The Virgin’s Lover and The Boleyn Inheritance were all great.

  1. What is the most disappointing ending to a book or series that you read?

I have very strong opinions about the endings of books so I quite often find endings disappointing. Solar by Ian McEwan is the most recent example of this. It didn’t so much end as just stop midway through the story. Just as things were getting interesting as well.

  1. Do you ever skip to the end to see what happens?

I skip to end and just scan the last sentence sometimes when I’m a bit bored with the story. I’ve never actually ruined a book for myself though.

  1. A book you actually enjoyed but wanted to hate?

I suppose A Game of Thrones as I started reading it right in the middle of my final university exams (really bad idea) so if I hadn’t got quite so addicted then it would have been a lot easier to drag myself away to get on with revising.

  1. Are there any authors whose work you refuse to read?

I refuse to read anymore Charles Dickens. Great Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities are good stories but I just can’t deal with his style of writing. He wanders off the point so much! But I don’t think there are any authors I refuse to read without having first tried.

  1. What’s your favourite TV show?

There’s not anything on TV at the moment that I’m watching avidly. My favourite TV programme that’s still ongoing is Game of Thrones. My favourite of all time is The West Wing.

  1. Watch the movie or read the book first?

I always read the book first. The only exception I can think of is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. But I was so confused by the film that it made me read the book just so I could understand. And that kickstarted my Harry Potter obsession.

  1. In your opinion, what is the most well done book to movie adaptation you’ve seen?

Atonement. It conveyed exactly the atmosphere I imagined as I was reading it.

  1. What fictional world would you like to live in?

I think Hobbiton would be a pretty good place to live. Everyone really mellow, never getting in to any trouble, just smoking their Longbottom Leaf, eating their stew and leaving everyone else to deal with the bad guys.

  1. If you could be any character from any book what character would you choose?

Well if I picked Rosie Cotton (the woman who marries Samwise Gamgee in LOTR) then I could live in Hobbiton and have the easy life. Ideally I’d like someone who was just going about her business, happy, untroubled, but those kinds of people don’t make very good books. So otherwise I’ll be Hermione Granger because she kicks ass.

  1. If you could have dinner with any of the fictional characters from books, movies or TV shows, who would it be and why?

Rory Gilmore from the Gilmore Girls. She was a huge inspiration to me growing up (in fact she’s the reason I got so into reading) and also I just think she’d be great fun to spend an evening with. If I had to pick someone from a book I’d pick Hermione Granger (because she’s my fall back answer for everything clearly).

  1. Why do you read?

Escapism.


Now my nominees and questions

In A Wonderland They Lie

Italian Hurricane

Literary Depressed

Obviously you’re free to ignore this. But even if you don’t answer the questions take it as a compliment. I love what you’re doing.

And my eleven questions for you are…..

  1. Do you watch films over and over again or just the once and then move on to something else?
  2. What’s your process for writing blog posts?
  3. What’s your specialty in the kitchen?
  4. What country would you love to visit?
  5. What was your favourite subject at school?
  6. Which is your favourite of all your blog posts so far?
  7. What do you have hanging on your walls?
  8. What did you have for lunch today? (I started to run out of ideas)
  9. Best present you’ve ever received?
  10. Best present you’ve ever given?
  11. Last book you read?
3 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

