Small Pleasures Week #8

FotorCreatedg

You know how last week I said that these would always be posted on a Monday from now on……. yeah, didn’t happen. But I have a good excuse as I’ve been off on holiday (only to Kent) and was without internet for two days.

And because I’ve been on holiday it means that this week has been filled with lots of small pleasures. And some medium sized pleasures too.

1. Taking photographs

I am a horrendous photographer. Every photo I take is either blurred or wonky or has my finger in it. But what I lack in skill I make up for in enthusiasm. I titled myself Official Photographer of the Holiday and there was not a moment that went by that was not immortalised as a photo. To be looked back on in years time and think ‘what on earth is that supposed to be?’

2. How old England is

I just love that no matter where you are in the country they’ll be some ancient manor house within an hours drive. We’ve pretty much exhausted the ones near where we live so it was nice to have some variety while we were in Kent. I’d really wanted to go to Hever Castle but unfortunately it was closed the day we were going to go so I didn’t get to swan around pretending to be Anne Boleyn, but we visited Winston Churchill’s house instead which was incredibly pretty.

3. Food

Going on holiday gives you carte blanche to eat whatever the hell you like. So I’ve had some truly humongous meals followed by some truly delicious puddings and I don’t have to feel guilty about it. Wonderful.

4. Pride

Considering it’s only March I’ve already seen three films which I could happily add to my list of favorites – first The Theory of Everything, then American Sniper and now Pride. It’s the true story of a group of gay rights activists who decide to start fundraising to help those involved in the miners strikes. Couldn’t really get two worlds more different. But it’s entertaining and heart warming without being mushy. I highly recommend.

6 thoughts on “Small Pleasures Week #8

Leave a Reply

