Day 26: Complimenting yourself

I have a distinct memory of being at a sleepover when I was teenager and we were all sat in a circle taking it in turns to say one thing we each liked about our appearance. And of course most of the girls would coyly say ‘oh, I don’t know – nothing,’ at which point everyone else would pipe up with lots of over the top compliments and they’d leave with a massive grin on their face. But I was so insecure about my looks that I didn’t want to force everyone to come up with insincere compliments. So I listed my left eyebrow and right ear. And there were a few odd looks but we moved on and I breathed a sigh of relief.

I’ve got slightly more confident since then but no matter what age you are, complimenting yourself is still an incredibly tough task.

So today I am supposed to list things I like and dislike about myself. And the dislikes could go on for pages and pages whereas I haven’t come up with one like I could talk about.

I’m not just going to give up though. I should be able to compliment myself, I should like at least some aspect of myself.

I think I’m a pretty good friend most of the time. But then I also moan about my friends. I’ll lend a sympathetic ear and try to give them advice as they to and fro over a tough decision, but at the same time I’ll be bitching to someone else that I wish they’d just get on with it.

I love the relationship I have with my parents but I think that’s more down to them than me. They put up with more than they should and let me take advantage of them sometimes so I can’t bring myself to think that that’s a good feature of my personality rather than theirs.

On a more superficial level I really like my metabolism. I can eat huge amounts of chocolate and junk food, do no exercise and yet gain no weight. But I don’t think that’s quite the kind of compliment I had in mind.

I’m going to keep thinking about it. Hopefully in a few days time I’ll have an epiphany and wonder how I didn’t come up with it sooner. Because if I truly can’t think of anything then that’s really quite a worrying state of affairs.

Day 26 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge.

4 thoughts on “Day 26: Complimenting yourself

  1. I’d say you seem intelligent based off of reading your posts! 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to read a lot of books, but I tend to get sleepy when I read (anything). 😦
    I wish I could read and be familiar with as many books as you are.

    I hope you think of something! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I have a lot of random general knowledge but I’m not sure I’d class that as intelligent! To be honest I’d actually forgotten I was supposed to be thinking of something. Oops

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

