My Week in Books: 23rd March 2015

Untitled

GIRL READING by KATIE WARD

How long: 4 days

Where I finished it: On the floor in my bedroom (I’m not sure why, I have a chair).

Favourite quote: She wished she could escape her own company, if only temporarily.

Would I read it again: Unlikely but I’d look out for other things by the author.

This was a classic case of judging a book by it’s cover. Actually I judged it by it’s spine but then liked the cover even more, it had positive reviews and the blurb sounded interesting so I bought it. This is the first book I’ve read in a long time that I had no idea of the story before I started it.

It’s seven short stories, all based around a girl, reading her book, having her likeness taken. The first story is set in 1333 and the final one in 2060. I hadn’t realised but aside from the last one (obviously) they’re all based on real paintings. And it’s certainly an interesting concept. But now I’ve finished it only two of the stories have really made a any impression at all – all the others I had to jog my memory about.

I certainly like her style of writing. She builds the plot very slowly with lots of hints about what’s happening so you spend the first half very confused, but intrigued enough to carry on reading.

I never once considered not finishing it but I can’t say I enjoyed it much more than that. I actually started another book before I finished it which is unheard of for me – I love finishing books and hate starting them.

ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L M MONTGOMERY

How long: 5 days

Where I finished it: In front of my laptop (I hate reading electronic copies of books)

Favourite quote: Mrs Thomas told me that God made my hair red on purpose, and I’ve never cared about Him since.

Would I read it again: It’s the kind of book that when I’m older I’d like to read to my children.

I LOVE this book. I just grinned from ear to ear the whole time I was reading it. It wasn’t a book I’d ever considered reading – I’d had it as an audiobook as a child but had no memories of the story – but I volunteer for a charity editing and formatting books for production as special editions for disabled readers and this was the book I was sent. After putting it off for months (literally months) I finally got round to tackling it and I wish I’d read it sooner! The character of Anne is so loveable, so endearing and it had me laughing out loud almost every chapter. I’m going to keep an eye out now for copies of the next books in the series.

I resent that it’s got a reputation as a children’s book – it’s a classic for all ages.

4 thoughts on “My Week in Books: 23rd March 2015

Leave a comment