This month I’ve been buying…..

FotorCreated2

Oh look, it’s a new posting feature for me to start, change multiple times, and then abandon. This one is a monthly roundup of why my bank balance looks so pathetic – all my money has been spent on books. Although I was pleasantly surprised that I’ve only bought ten. I must have shown some restraint. Only three of them have been read so far though but it’s investment for the future. But now I think about it, seen as I’ve always got about ten books (if not more) waiting to be read and the moment I finish one I buy another (or two more) in it’s place I’m going to die with ten books I never got round to reading. That’s a depressing thought.

1. The London Train – Tessa Hadley

I’d very recently finished The Girl on the Train when I came across this so I picked it up purely because it had train in the title. I like the idea of two separate but interlinked stories so I bought it. But because I know so little about it it will probably be months before I decide to start it.

2. Ian McEwan – Black Dogs

I’m on a bit of a mission to read everything Ian McEwan has ever written. So far, out of the 14 I mean to read, I’ve got 3 still to buy and only 6 actually finished. But it’s only April, I can easily have it done by the end of the year.

3. Let it Snow – John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

I picked this up purely because I’ve jumped on the John Green hype. It’s one of the few of these that I’ve actually already read (and reviewed if you’re interested). In a nutshell – not great.

4. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

I know, I know, I’m painfully behind the times not having read this yet. I found it second hand, unfortunately in this rather garish shade of orange. It just looks ridiculous on my bookshelves. I’m really looking forward to reading it after I enjoyed Girl on the Train so much but I’m waiting until I’ve got a lot of free time and something happy and lighthearted to do after I finish it.

5. Collection of Thomas Hardy poetry

I’ve been on the hunt for a collection of Thomas Hardy poetry for a while. It had to include my two favourite Hardy poems – Drummer Hodge and The Man He Killed. I finally found one (not the one in the picture, the one I’ve bought doesn’t seem to exist on the internet). It’s second hand and has an inscription inside ‘To Dad, on your 70th, Love Louise’ so it’s pretty much as good as I could have hoped (I love second hand books with inscriptions and margin notes).

6. Woman Much Missed – Thomas Hardy

It was 80p, how could I say no?

7. Clash of Kings – George RR Martin

I’ve already read the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series and am impatiently waiting for the next book. But I read them all as electronic copies so now I’m slowly building up a collection of paperback copies. Not that I really have room to spare on my bookshelves for those seven massive tomes.

8. Girl Reading – Katie Ward

Another one that I’ve actually read and reviewed! It was a classic case of judging a book by it’s cover. But in the end I’m glad I read it so it won’t stop me doing it again in the future.

9. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

There are certain topics of books that just don’t interest me and The Holocaust is one of them. I think school destroyed any interest I might have had in that period of history. But I’d walked all the way across town in the rain to get to this bookshop, they had a massive selection and I just couldn’t find anything that caught my imagination so I got desperate and was reading the blurb of every book I picked up, hoping to find one I wanted. And once I got to the bottom of this blurb and discovered the book was narrated by Death I was sold. I love a book with a sense of impending doom. Becuase it’s so long though it will probably languor at the bottom of my TBR list for a while.

10. Where’d You Go, Bernadette – Maria Semple

And then, like buses, once I’d found one book I immediately found another. I thought once I finished The Book Thief (which I know nothing about but I’m assuming it’s going to be depressing because of the miserable cover) this would be a good antidote (because of the cheerful cover).

2 thoughts on “This month I’ve been buying…..

Leave a Reply

