The British Tag

582341_10150894733761298_639777083_n

I came across this tag while looking up biscuit recipes (something I spend an inordinate amount of time doing) and thought I’d join in because….. well why not? I quite like being British – polite with a good sense of humour and drinking lots of tea – what’s not to like. Though if we elect Nigel Farage I may have to disown the country and emigrate to Australia.

1. How many cups of tea do you have a day and how many sugars?

Until a few years ago I couldn’t stand tea but I was watching the Great British Bake Off one day and knew I fancied something and it turned out it was a cup of tea! Now I have about two cups a day. Never with sugar. Tea with sugar is disgusting.

2. Favourite part of your roast?

I’m not a huge fan of a roast dinner but a traditional roast dinner should come with a pudding served with custard and I love any pudding that comes with custard. Preferably a treacle sponge.

3. Favourite dunking biscuit?

Why would you dunk your biscuit?! You’ve got a nice cup of tea and a delicious biscuit and dunking it turns it into a lumpy cup of tea and a soggy biscuit. So I’ll take my double chocolate digestive on the side please.

4. Favourite quintessentially British pass time?

Watching a tennis match at Wimbledon while drinking Pimms and eating strawberries. Even better if there’s a member of the Royal Family there.

5. Favourite word?

Doddle. I don’t know if this is a British word but it sounds like it should be. It’s just a fun word to say. It means something was easy, as in, ‘thinking of an answer to this question was a doddle’ (although it wasn’t).

6. Cockney rhyming slang?

I don’t know much but I was rather shocked the other day to discover that calling someone a ‘berk’ is Cockney rhyming slang for a very rude word (google it). My dad calls me a berk all the time!

7. Favourite sweet?

Not really a sweet but Cadbury’s Dairy Milk. Two months in America without access to Dairy Milk near killed me. What is with American chocolate? It’s just horrible. We were met at the airport when we landed home with cups of tea and chocolate bars.

8. What would your pub be called?

I’ve actually thought about this quite a lot (not that I’d ever want to run a pub). I’d call mine ‘The Usurping Nag’ which sounds like a pub name but is actually a Harry Potter quote.

9. No.1 British person?

Emma Watson. She’s my favourite person of all nationalities and who’s more British than Hermione Granger?!

10. Favourite shop/restaurant?

Topshop may be one of the best things Britain has given to the rest of the world. Although it’s annoyingly more expensive in other countries.

11. What British song pops into your head?

The Village Green Preservation Society by The Kinks is Britishness through and through.

12. Marmite

Yeah it’s alright. I have to be in a very specific kind of mood.

One thought on “The British Tag

Leave a Reply

