This month I’ve been buying….

FotorCreated

This has been a bad month for book buying in that it’s been a really good month for book buying. I really need a bookshelf extension. Ufortunately mine are built into my room so it’s not really possible. I’m thinking about just throwing away all my DVDs to make more room. Everything’s online now anyway.

Of the 15 books I’ve bought I have started two and finished none (and two I’d already read). I need to get a move on!

  1. The Fault in our Stars – John Green

I’d read this as an eBook and I just can’t deal with not owning every book I’ve read, especially ones I enjoyed as much as The Fault in the Stars. It took me a while to track down a non-movie-tie-in edition. I just can’t stand movie-tie-in editions. I like my books as books and films as films.

  1. The Undercover Economist – Tim Hartford

It’s been almost two years since I graduated and my economics definitely needs polishing up. So I thought a book like this would be a good way to ease myself back in again.

  1. The Hive – Gill Hornby

I admit it; I judged this by its cover. It’s just such a pretty pattern it caught my eye. But it has good reviews on the cover and an interesting sounding blurb. The kind of book I can just get sucked into for a few days without having to think too much. But to be honest, I probably would have bought it whatever the blurb said purely to brighten up my bookshelves.

  1. The Thirty-Nine Steps – John Buchan

I’m on a mission to own every edition of these lurid bright green Penguin classics. They’re out of print now so lots of trawling through charity bookshops. Although this hasn’t brought me much success so far. I could buy them on eBay but I resent paying more for it now than it cost new. So when I came across this one I bought it without even reading the blurb. I have to admit I started it and abandoned it but only because something better came along. I’ll definitely read it. It’s so short there’s no excuse not to.

  1. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Joy Fowler

I read The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Fowler and really enjoyed it for its light-heartedness so I was pretty surprised when I saw she’d written another book which was Booker Prize nominated. They’re not keen on light-hearted. But the blurb definitely intrigued me so I splashed out on it full priced.

  1. Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie

Ok, I know I said mere days ago that I am not an Agatha Christie fan but this book is just such a classic and the cover so attractive that I couldn’t say no. Unfortunately this does mean I’ll actually have to read it.

  1. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith

I assume everyone reads over other people’s shoulders on the train? Please tell me it’s not just me who’s that nosy? Anyway, in this month’s Good Housekeeping being read by the woman said next to me on the 14.15 to London Euston there was a list of books that people can just read over and over again. And I Capture the Castle featured. Which was a book I read as a teenager and have absolutely no recollection of at all apart from the opening line. So I bought it again and will see if now I’m older I can take something more from it.

  1. The Widow’s Secret – Brian Thompson

I walked all the way into town and hadn’t found a single book I wanted so I just picked an author initial at random (T) and a colour (yellow) and this was the closest book I could find. Let’s hope it’s not a huge let down.

  1. Moranthology – Caitlin Moran

I didn’t actually buy this. I had decided I wasn’t allowed to buy any more books that week. But turns out I can’t even leave the house without returning with a book. I went to borrow some butter off a neighbour and came back with this. She hadn’t enjoyed it but I love everything Caitlin Moran and am loving this book so far. And it’s actually the only book on this list that I’ve even started.

  1. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald

Again, it’s bright green, I couldn’t say no. I’ve already read this and didn’t really get what all the fuss was about so I think I’ll try again now I’ve got my own copy and hopefully enjoy it more.

  1. Dandelion Clock – Rebecca Westcott

A quote from Jacqueline Wilson on the cover of a book is a sure fire way of getting me to buy it. I hadn’t actually realised it was a YA novel when I bought but I’m sure this won’t stop me enjoying it.

  1. Selected Stories – Thomas Hardy

I am loving Thomas Hardy at the moment. The only problem is his books in general are very long which makes them very heavy which makes them less convenient for taking to work with me. So this little paperback of his selected short stories was a winner for me.

  1. Brooklyn – Colm Toibin

After buying both Girl Reading and The London Train on whims and enjoying both of them I’m being more adventurous with my book buying. Not going into bookshops with a set list but just picking up the ones that catch my eye. Which means I’m buying a lot more books (not good) and eventually it’s going to backfire and I’ll get stuck reading something I hate. Hopefully not yet though.

  1. Life of Pi – Yann Martel

I’ve already seen the film version of this (I know, watching the film before reading the book, blasphemy) but I really like the concept of the film so have been on the lookout for a nice copy (with more well-known books like this I can afford to be picky about looks) and this one fit the bill perfectly.

2 thoughts on “This month I’ve been buying….

  1. Did you buy Val McDermid’s Northanger Abbey?? I keep going back and forth about whether or not I want to read it, so if you read it, I’m curious to know what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

