Recipe: Freeze-ahead mixed bean burrito

gfh

I am about as far from being a morning person as anyone you will ever meet. It’s not that I don’t function in the mornings, I just can’t wake up. So I like to set my alarm as late as physically possible. If I have to be out the house at 8.30 my alarm goes off at 8.15. And obviously this leaves me very little time to make my lunch in the mornings.

Enter the freeze-ahead mixed bean burrito.

These are seriously a god sent when I’m working. Just get one out the freezer the night before, zap it for two minutes in the microwave at lunchtime and you’ve got a plate of cheesy nutritious deliciousness. And not only are they easy and healthy but they’re also pretty cheap. And flexible. You can add whatever you fancy – courgette, tinned tomatoes, chilli powder, replace the rice with quinoa – the world is your oyster.

The trickiest part is actually wrapping the burritos. The bigger the tortilla the easier apparently. I watched numerous YouTube videos on how to professionally wrap a burrito (I know, I know, what is my life) and the consensus seems to be don’t overfill. You see that picture at the top? Less than that. That one did not end well.

Makes 8 

Ingredients

80g brown rice

1 tbsp cooking oil

2 onions

1 large clove of garlic

1 tbsp cumin powder

1 tin red kidney beans

2 tins sweetcorn

1 tin mixed beans

150g grated cheese

8 large tortillas

Method

Put the rice and a pinch of salt in a large pan of boiling water and cook for 30 minutes or according to pack instructions.

Chop up the onion and garlic and fry in a saucepan with the tablespoon of oil until softened.

Add the cumin to the onions and continue to fry until lightly browned.

Drain the tins of beans and add to the onions for another five minutes cooking.

When the rice is done mix in with the onions and beans and leave to cool.

Heat the tortillas in the microwave for 30 seconds.

Spread a spoonful of the bean and rice mixture onto the tortilla, top with a handful of grated cheese and roll up in foil.

These can be stored in the freezer for up to 1 month. When you’re ready to eat one take it out the freezer the night before and leave to thaw in the fridge then heat for two minutes in the microwave.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Freeze-ahead mixed bean burrito

Leave a Reply

