Small Pleasures Week #12

 

1. My new job

I started a new job on Wednesday. Just some more entirely mundane admin but it is so nice to feel I have a purpose again. In fact I spent most of the weekend in a funny kind of mood, almost as if I wished I was at work rather than dossing around in my pjs catching up on TV. Unheard of.

2. Buses

They may be completely unreliable and bear absolutely no relation to the timetable. They may mean leaving the house earlier than if I were to just walk and charge me £4 for the pleasure. They may smell a bit funny and make me travel sick. But I’m having a love affair with buses. I love sitting down with my book for half an hour while someone chauffeurs me to work. Especially when it’s drizzly and cold outside.

3. Old people

To quote Clueless – ‘old people can be so sweet.’ On a spring evening two old people walked arm in arm across a field and my heart just melted watching them.

4. Facing my fears

I hate hate hate talking on the phone. It’s a combined fear of getting the wrong number, not being able to hear what the other person is saying and coming across as an idiot. So you can imagine my emotions when my manager asked me to spend the afternoon phoning people. But you know what, it wasn’t anywhere near as bad as I expected. I pictured myself by the end of the day so stressed from the whole thing that I’d be curled up in a toilet cubicle hyperventilating. But in reality I was just fine.

5 thoughts on “Small Pleasures Week #12

  1. I hate talking on the phone as well. It’s like you have to come up with something on the spot compared to writing where you have time to think about what you say. Also hate when you are having peaceful serenity, like sleeping or reading and then the phone rings interrupting that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

