The Work-Blog Balance

img_7620-1
You might have noticed that I haven’t been posting very regularly for the past few weeks. Why? Because I have a job. And as much as it’s a good job, pays well, keeps me busy, introduces me to nice people, it still exhausts me. When I come home in the evenings I just want to collapse in front of the TV before going to bed at 8.30pm (true story. I have reverted to the bedtime of a 10 year old). The last thing I want to be doing is stressing over getting my useless laptop to connect to the less than reliable internet. So I’m afraid the blog has rather fallen down my list of priorities.

But I’m not ready to give up on it just yet. I’m so proud of this blog and I don’t want to see all my hard work go to waste. I was seeing my stats go up and up. Over 100 followers! Amazing! So I suppose I just need to find my inspiration again. And tonight might have been that night. (It also might have something to do with me maybe having fixed the internet – touch wood).

So if I’ve removed the internet as a problem then it’s just a matter of finding somethign to write about….

Reading-wise I’m on a serious Philippa Gregory hype at the moment. And although her books are engrossing they’re not exactly inspiring. I don’t finish them and think ‘I must let the world know what I have thought of this.’ So posts on books aren’t where my mojo is.

I should be overrun with potential recipes to publish seen as I’m cooking for myself most nights. But the majority of evenings my first thought on getting home isn’t ‘what can I make that will look really Instagram-able?’ It’s ‘what can I make that’s quick, easy and filling?’ So instead of inventive recipes most nights it’s oven pizzas or tuna pasta.

All that leaves is random ramblings. The kind of posts where I start writing them with absolutely no idea where I’ll end up. Like this one. And to be honest that’s fine with me. I’d rather have some less well worded (bordering on nonsensical) posts than nothing at all.

So in the next few weeks you can expect to see a little bit more activity from me. Even if it is just 300 words on a funny thing that happened on the bus. Or why ice cream isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Becuase as far as I’m concerned that’s better than nothing.

One thought on “The Work-Blog Balance

  1. I missed seeing you on here. I had to hunt down your blog and come and find you. This explains why you’ve vanished a bit.
    This morning I was half dreaming as I woke up and I was thinking about your 3 bean lasagne, I really must make it! Miss you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

