This month I’ve been buying…

May

Another ten books were added to my bookshelves this month. Fortunately thanks to some careful rearranging (and moving all my DVDs onto my parents shelves freeing up another two feet of space) I have room to buy as many books as I want at the moment. Which is a luxury I haven’t had for ages.

Of the ten books I bought five I had already read and two I have read since buying, which isn’t brilliant progrss. My TBR list is getting out of hand.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

I discovered my new favourite bookshop and it is less than a ten minute walk from work. The first time I visited (before I bought them all) they had quite the collection of my favourite bright green Penguin Popular Classics and this was one of them.

The Christmas Books by Charles Dickens

And this was another.

White Fang/The Call of the Wild by Jack London

And this was a third. I’m fairly certain this is a book Rory and Jess read in Gilmore Girls which alone is a good enough recommendation for me.

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by JRR Tolkein

Yes I already owned this but you can have no idea how much it bugged me that it was bigger than the other two in the series. So yes, I spent £2 on an almost identical copy of a book that I don’t even like that much.

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein

And then to add to the craziness I bought a second copy of The Hobbit because this one matched my set of LOTRs better.

Aesop’s Fables by Aesop

Because it was bright green obvs.

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

I picked this book up purely because of the title. But then I bought it because I just don’t read enough nonfiction.

The Virgin’s Lover by Philippa Gregory

This is another book that I’d read as an ebook but then just had to buy. Because as much as ebooks are convenient they’re just not the same as books. This is the second to last instalment of The Tudor Court series and was one of my favourites. Incredibly easy to read and put an interested spin on history. As much as I know it’s not in any way true I can’t help but think slightly differently about Elizabeth I since reading it.

Flour Babies by Anne Fine

When I was a child I listened to this audiobook so much that when I read the words I can hear it being spoken. I’d never actually owned the book though so when I saw it in a second hand bookshop for £1.50 I had to buy it. I actually read it that afternoon (don’t you just love how short children’s books are?) and it was just as good as I remembered.

The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory

This book had been out in paperback for less than a month when I found it for £2 in a charity bookshop. So someone had bought it, read it and donated it all in the space of a few weeks. And it is not a short book! I’ve got an impressive collection of Philippa Gregory’s but so far have only read The Tudor Court series. But I decided to jump right over the whole of the War of the Roses series and started this one the moment I owned it. And a week later it was finished and reviewed.

Leave a Reply

