The 10 best Harry Potter moments

I was flicking through my blog yesterday (is that weird? That I look at my own blog? I’m just so damn proud of it) and realised that I really do not talk about Harry Potter enough. There’s lots about Ian McEwan and Jane Austen and Philippa Gregory but somehow Harry Potter has been drastically overlooked.

Time to rectify that with a whole heap of posts about everything I love about Harry Potter. Which is a lot. I mean A LOT. I’m that crazy person who can name all the chapter titles in order and come nerdily close to completing the top 200 most mentioned characters quiz on Sporcle.

So in honour of Harry Potter, a countdown of my top ten favourite moments from the seven books. I was quite surprised at the outcome actually. Goblet of Fire and Prisoner of Azkhaban are probably my two favourite books but they only have one entry between them, whereas Order of the Phoenix is my least favourite but it alone has three entries. Weird.

10. The Silver Doe, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“You – complete – arse – Ronald – Weasley!”

Thank god Ron comes back is all I can say. Everything gets so serious while he’s gone – they get attacked by a giant snake and Harry’s wand breaks and they discover that Dumbledore wasn’t always a good guy. So it’s such a relief to finally have something to smile about again. Not only does Ron come back but they find the Sword of Gryffindor and they’re a horcrux down. It’s smiles all round (apart from Hermione, who’s pretty damn mad at Ron, but she comes round eventually).

9. Grawp, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Weasley is our King”

I’m a sucker for a happy moment. And in this overwhelmingly depressing book that’s not any easy find. But Gryffindor winning the Quidditch Cup thanks to Ron’s incredible goal keeping abilities is about as bright as moments get.

8. Felix Felicis, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Unnoticed by either, Harry seized the bowl that contained the pod and began to try and open it by the nosiest and most energetic means he could think of; unfortunately he could still hear every word of their conversation.

I am firmly team Ron and Hermione. Whatever JK Rowling says I think they’re perfect together. And this scene is such a will they/won’t they moment with Hermione awkwardly asking Ron to Slughorn’s Christmas party and Ron awkwardly accepting, all while Harry tries to just blend into the background. Just thinking about it puts a huge goofy grin on my face.

7. Dobby’s Reward, Harry Potter and the Chanber of Secrets

“Dobby is free.”

Oh my god Dobby. I just love the little guy. There are a lot of things wrong with the films but my biggest complaint is that there is not enough Dobby. This great moment at the end of the second book where Harry tricks Lucius Malfoy into freeing Dobby is just wonderful.

6. The Prince’s Tale, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“Always.”

Finally finally after seven books of waiting this is the chapter where we start to get some answers. Suddenly, everything falls into place. And above all we once and for all find out if Snape is a good guy or a bad guy. The answer – well he’s somewhere in the middle. But that doesn’t stop his love for Lily from being incredibly romantic.

5. The Eye of the Snake, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“One person can’t feel all that at once, they’d explode.”

“Just because you’ve got the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”

It’s one very specific part of this chapter that I like – when Harry comes back from the DA meeting and tells Ron and Hermione about kissing Cho. I love the moments like this where it’s the just the three of them sitting around enjoying each others company without trying to save the world. And JK Rowling conveys the awkwardness of the situation so well that you almost cringe while reading it – but in a really good way.

4. Christmas on the Closed Ward, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Neville, put that wrapper in the bin, she must have given you enough to paper your bedroom by now.” But as they left, Harry was sure he say Neville slip the wrapper into his pocket.

This is one of the most heart-wrenching chapters in the whole series. Running into Neville and his grandmother visiting his parents in hospital had me weeping in a ball at the foot of my bed.

3. The Battle of Hogwarts, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“OI! There’s a war going on here!”

For the last two chapters of Deathly Hallows I’d been getting increasingly worried about the absence of Ron and Hermione. And by this point I was practically apoplectic with fear that one or both of them was dead. So when they turn up, unharmed, with the basilisk fang and then kiss – well my heart just melted.

2. Hallowe’en, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.

This is the point where the story really begins. The trio are united and ready to kick some serious ass.

1. The Unforgiveable Curses, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“I think it’s time for the old Divination standby.”

“What – make it up?”

“Yeah.”

At number one is a completely underrated moment which you’ll probably think I’m really weird for picking – Ron and Harry sitting in the Gryffindor common room making up their Divination homework while Hermione looks on disapprovingly. But it just epitomises their friendship throughout the whole series. And it’s the realistic portrayal of their friendship – the banter and squabbles and falling outs – that takes the series from being great to being fan-fucking-tastic.

15 thoughts on “The 10 best Harry Potter moments

  1. LOVE THIS. You know I’m rereading the series right now for my own blog, and seeing someone else talk about their immense love of HP makes me smile. I love your choices, too! The troll moment, you’re so right. That’s really the catalyst for it all. So. good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

