This month I’ve been buying…

JUne

Well the end of June really snuck up on me! But then I’ve had an incredibly busy month (as you might have noticed by my partial inactivity). I’ve worked full time, turned 24 and possibly just started renting my very own studio flat! And along with all that I’ve found time to buy myself eight books.

1. THE LUXE by ANNA GODBERSON

This is the stupidest purchase I have made to date. I used to own this book. I donated it to a charity shop. And then I regretted donating it and a couple of months later bought it back. Basically I paid a bookshop £1.50 to look after my book for a few months. But I really enjoyed this book and it’s stuck with me as one that I really would like to read again at some point. It’s basically Gossip Girl but 100 years earlier.

2. GREYFRIARS BOBBY by ELEANOR ATKINSON

Oh look at that, it’s got a bright green cover. I wonder why I bought that?

3. MOMENTO MORI by MURIEL SPARK

I bought this almost entirely out of desperation to buy something, anything, after I’d walked all the way to the bookshop at lunchtime. And I liked the idea of reading about old people because I’m pretty old at heart myself. But I started it and abandoned it twenty pages in and it takes A LOT for me to abandon a book.

4. WILD ABANDON by JOE DUNTHORNE

Also bought out of desperation on the same shopping trip. It was described as funny and I don’t read enough funny books. But I haven’t read this one yet either.

5. THE WHITE PRINCESS by PHILIPPA GREGORY

The purchase of this book completes my Philippa Gregory collection. Now I’ve just got to actually read them all……

6. VERONICA MARS: THE THOUSAND DOLLAR TAN LINE by ROB THOMAS

This was bought for me rather than by me but I’m including it anyway because why not? I LOVE the Veronica Mars TV series (I’m actually watching an episode as I write this) so I’m very excited to finally have some fresh stories.

7. EMMA by JANE AUSTEN

Only one more Jane Austen to go and I’ll have my complete collection of bright green editions.

8. LITTLE WOMEN by LOUISA MAY ALCOTT

Becuase if it’s good enough to be one of Rachel and Joey’s favourite books then it’s good enough for me. (That’s a Friends reference there if you don’t know every episode off by heart like I do).

3 thoughts on “This month I’ve been buying…

  1. I love the Luxe series! I read it in early high school, so I don’t remember it too well, but it’s really good and a great, easy read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

