The soundtrack to my library


Now this might be just a me thing because I do have quite a few weird quirks (the kind of thing that you always assume is normal until you say it out loud and the response is just a sea of blank faces) but when a book evokes a particular (or particularly strong) emotion I like to have a song to match the mood. Sometimes it happens naturally – I just happen to have had that song stuck in my head while I am reading it, or it came up on shuffle quite a lot. Sometimes it’s as simple as they have the same name or it was in the soundtrack to the film. And sometimes I make a conscious effort to hunt down the perfect match. But however it happened I can no longer listen to these songs without being reminded of the books.

I suppose the idea of this post is that if you’re thinking about reading any of these books then having the suggested song on in the background will in someway heighten the experience? I don’t know. Maybe this is just self-indulgence. I’d certainly be interested if you’ve read any of these books and listen to the song to see if you agree.

ANNA KARENINA by LEO TOLSTOY

I CAPTURE THE CASTLE by DODIE SMITH

THE HOBBIT by JRR TOLKEIN

ATONEMENT by IAN McEWAN

BROOKLYN by COLM TOIBIN

VALLEY OF THE DOLLS by JACQUELINE SUSANN

5 thoughts on “The soundtrack to my library

  1. Yes! I’ve been doing a similar thing lately! I’ve also been connecting classical music to my favorite books, which has been really cool for me! It’s like I’m asking myself if the music was the soundtrack to a book, who would the characters be and what would be happening? I personally enjoy it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds really interesting, kind of doing it the other way around – first finding the music and then picking the book. I might have to try that with some of my favourite songs

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If you’re interested, I’m actually doing some of this with Anna Karenina and a classical piece on my blog right now, and I’m really excited about what I’m hearing! No pressure at all, but you can always check that out if you want.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

