Five books that absolutely lived up to their hype

HypedSo I’ve decided to start myself a little blogging feature. Although there’s only three posts so does that really count? Maybe series is a better word – a blogging series. But a UK series, not an American series because then I’d be writing 24 of them and now way could I think of that many. I should point out that I’m writing this having eaten nothing all day but drunk three lattes (because I’m camped out in Costa using their free wifi) and caffeine really affects me – I’m full on shaking as I type this – so this will in no way be well written and at some points it won’t even be coherent. And there will be lots of wandering off the point (like that thing above – what even is that about?).

Anyway, deep breath, focus on what you’re doing, Lizzy.

Basically these posts will be about those books that get an awesome hype – either the books that for a few months are just everywhere; shop windows, blog posts, Instagram, everywhere or the classics that have survived hundreds of years and maintained a fearsome reputation. This first one is the five books that absolutely lived up to their hype. No matter how many times I read these they never fail to impress. People can talk about them as much as they want and it will still never ever do them justice.

1. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

I really didn’t expect that much from this as I tend to like to run away from the crowd but there’s no denying this is a great book. Funny and sweet and (I imagine) a really realistic portrayal of life with cancer.

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

There is literally nothing wrong with this book. Nothing. The best love story ever written with the best characters, setting and language. Perfection in book form.

3. Atonement by Ian McEwan

So very very romantic. Just thinking about this book makes my heart break a little bit. And with a great twist at the end. If you haven’t read this you really need to.

4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I actually read this at school, which is usually the death of any book, so it’s a sign of it’s greatness that even that couldn’t ruin it for me. It’s one of those books that everyone needs to read – not just a great story but historically significant too.

5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Hilarious. Absolutely hilarious. I found this such an addictive read that I even stopped watching a tennis match to finish it which for me is really saying something.

6 thoughts on “Five books that absolutely lived up to their hype

Leave a Reply

