Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten Favourite Quotes from 2015

IMG_9641

Well it turns out I’m an idiot because I’ve only just realised The Broke and the Bookish release the themes for these Top Ten Tuesdays in advance. So I don’t actually have to manically do them when I get home from work on the Tuesday, I can prepare them days ahead of time, weeks even. So that’ll be nice for next time but this one is still a fly by the seat of my pants Top Ten Tuesday.

This is, as the title says, my ten favourite quotes from 2015, excluding poetry because even though I do read a lot of poetry I don’t keep track of my favourite quotes so well. But I might try and put together a list of that sort in the near future.

As much as I destroy books in every other way (cracking the spines, spilling food on them, dropping them in the bath) I just can’t bring myself to write in them. Which means highlighting or underlining is out.  So I remember quotes the modern way: I photograph them. Half the camera roll on my phone is blurry, night time photos of book pages. But this at least meant I had a ready made source to put together this list of the ten most poignant, touching or just plain funny quotes from the books I’ve read so far this year.

  1. It was the touch of the imperfect upon the would-be perfect that gave the sweetness, because it was that which gave the humanity.

Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

 

  1. A girl doesn’t read this sort of thing without her lipstick.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

 

  1. I do not mean to lose my temper. It slips from me and I cannot catch it.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

 

  1. There is no academy where you can learn to be yourself; there is no line manager, slowly urging you towards the correct answer. You are midwife to yourself, and will give birth to yourself, over and over, in dark rooms, alone.

How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

 

  1. Mais, vrai, j’ai trop pleuré! Les Aubes sont navrantes (translation: but, truly, I have wept too much! The dawns are heart-breaking).

The Secret History by Donna Tartt from The Drunken Boat by Arthur Rimbaud

 

  1. And when you have once extinguisehed my love, you will find it no easy matter to rekindle it again.

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte

 

  1. Looking twenty-eight seems to be an infectious disease that most women catch the moment they hit forty.

Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann

 

  1. I was a pebble. I was a leaf. I was the jagged branch of a tree. I was nothing to them and they were everything to me.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

 

  1. Those who cry the loudest are not always the ones who hurt the most.

Aesop’s Fables

 

  1. There is nothing in the world more powerful than a woman who knows what she wants and walks a straight road towards it.

The White Princess by Philippa Gregory

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten Favourite Quotes from 2015

    1. Thank you 🙂 Mine too! I didn’t like The Secret History at first but now when I look back on it I realise it was much better than I originally thought. Funny how books do that sometimes

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

