Time for a facelift

The other month (quite a few months ago) I did a list of my favourite book covers and it got me thinking about my least favourite. The ones that I really wish I could redesign. Be it because they don’t match the content or they’re just a bit dull or god forbid they use a photo (a personal pet peeve of mine). So these are the five ugliest books on my shelves. Not as much fun as the other post but it’s good to get it off my chest!

HARRY POTTER by JK ROWLING

IMG_9605

Perhaps the only thing wrong with the Harry Potter series is these book covers. I keep them because they have all the memories of the first time I read them but I’d love to replace them with the new brightly coloured editions. These are just so childish looking – which I know is the point but I think the primary colours take it too far.

THE COUSINS’ WAR and THE TUDOR COURT by PHILIPPA GREGORY

IMG_8058

Oh look – photos! Not only do the covers have photos but the spines of these do not quite match which drives me insane. And The King’s Curse has just a big picture of Henry VIII which stares down at me from my shelves and creeps me out. The font’s pretty but that’s about the only redeeming feature.

CATCH 22 by JOSEPH HELLER

FullSizeRender

It’s just a bit bleugh. I’m looking at it now and I just don’t really understand. Is it supposed to represent something? Why is the ’22’ completely off centre? What’s with the little silver dots? Was this really the best font they could find? This may be the greatest book ever written and this cover doesn’t even start to do it justice.

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by JOHN GREEN

  

The only author to make it on to both lists so that’s a kind of achievement in it’s way. It’s not that I have anything against this cover in particular – I like the simple bright block style – but it’s just become such a cliche. So it needs a redesign to make it fresh again.

THE TENANT OF WILDFELL HALL by ANNE BRONTE

IMG_9484

It’s just so dull! What were Penguin thinking?!? Give me my beloved bright green Penguin Popular Classics any day.

6 thoughts on “Time for a facelift

  1. So funny! The original American Harry Potter covers are, in my opinion, some of the best covers I’ve ever seen. It’s killed me over the past few years to see the American redesigns. Though, I did see the British redesigns in London this August and thought they looked great! But give me my American versions any day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

