Recipe: Sweet and Salty Rocky Road

I’m going to begin this post by posing a deep and philosophical question – what is the difference between tiffin and rocky road?

Is it something to do with the amount of chocolate? Or whether it has marshmallows in it? Or just the Americanised name versus the British name? The whole of the internet has failed to give me an answer, maybe one of you can?

Either way this started out in my head as a tiffin but the finished product just felt more like rocky road.

Rocky Road Recipe Chocolate Peanuts Blog Marshmallow

But the one addition that makes this less like every other rocky road you’ve ever tried is the salted peanuts. Although I can’t really claim credit for this brainwave as I didn’t have any other choice – I wanted nuts in it, I didn’t want to pay more than £1, salted peanuts were my only option. But as they say, necessity is the mother of invention. And oh my god is this a good invention.

Now that the world has embraced salted caramel I think I’m just going to be putting salt in every sweet thing I make from now on. Because it just makes it better. And the saltiness cuts through the sweetness in a way that makes eating five in one sitting not only possible but likely.

Salted peanut rocky road with a cup of tea and The Jane Austen Book Club

Another thing in its favour is that it’s incredibly easy to make. The whole thing from beginning to end took me less than half an hour (minus the four hours it has to sit on the side and set while you ignore that little devil on your shoulder telling you to just grab a spoon and dig in now). And that half an hour included the time it took me to cut large marshmallows into mini marshmallows because it saved me £1 and, hello, cheapskate, party of one.

My stingyness is also the reason there aren’t any raisins in this because raisins it turns out are expensive! But I’m sure they’d be delicious. Actually there’s any number of things that could be added to this recipe and would only make it more incredible – almonds, hazelnuts, cranberries, honeycomb, fudge, crystallised ginger, pistachios, apricots, popcorn……. I could go on and on and on and on. But let’s just get to the recipe instead.

IMG_0701

Makes 21 pieces

Ingredients

200g milk chocolate (broken into pieces)

100g dark chocolate (broken into pieces)

125g butter

3 tablespoons honey

150g digestive biscuits

200g mini marshmallows

150g salted peanuts

Method

Line a 30cm by 20cm baking tray with greaseproof paper.

Melt the chocolate, butter and honey over a low heat, then put to one side.

Put the biscuits in a freezer bag and bash with a rolling pin until you have a mixture of crumbs and bigger chunks.

Add the biscuit pieces, marshmallows and peanuts to the chocolate and mix until evenly coated.

Pour into the baking tray and spread into the corners and until reasonably flat on top.

Cover with cling film and leave in the fridge to set for at least 4 hours, preferably over night.

Using a sharp knife cut into 21 even pieces and try to resist the temptation to eat them all in one go.

Salted peanut and marshmallow rocky road

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Sweet and Salty Rocky Road

    1. Is that digestive biscuits? Can you not get them outside of England?! I’d never really considered it before but now you’ve said I guess they are a very British thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

