Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten most recent additions to my TBR list

 
I’m resigned to the fact that when I die it will be next to a massive bookcase full of unread books. But I just can’t read as quickly as I can find new books I want to read.

This is partly your fault, all you book bloggers out there. I was quite happy to never read anything by Rainbow Rowell until I came across Alysyn’s review of Fangirl and Carry On and now I’m hooked. I thought I’d covered all the classic authors I’d ever be interested in until I discovered all the love there is out there for Elizabeth Gaskell. And it never would have crossed my mind to bother with War and Peace before I read all those reviews on The Blue Bore (and the BBC adaptation might have had a hand too).

So what I’m saying is I don’t have to look very far back to find ten books I’ve recently added to my TBR list for this weeks Top Ten Tuesday. 

 

1. Stoner by John Williams

Sometimes a book just catches your eye in a shop for no good reason. This was one of those.

2. Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

This should have been on my TBR list for much longer seen as it’s Seth Cohen’s favourite but until I came across it second hand I didn’t even know what it was about.

3. A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian by Marina Lewycka

This book was a huge deal about five years ago and now I get round to thinking, hmm, maybe I should read that.

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Another one that’s hype has had a rather delayed effect on me. But after seeing the second film I’m chomping at the bit to read the books.

5. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

There’s been a lot of love for this book turning up on Instagram so I thought I’d see what all the fuss was about.

6. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

You know what? I’m going to do it, I’m going to read this.

7. The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

Another impulse buy which I’ve really got to stop doing if I’m ever going to make headway on my TBRs.

8. Generation X by Douglas Coupland

I can’t find the blog post which put me onto Douglas Coupland but it planted the seed and now I’ve got several of his books waiting to be read.

9. This One Is Mine by Maria Semple

I finished Where’d You Go, Bernadette last weekend and it sparked an interest in reading other things by Maria Semple.

10. Glamorama by Brett Easton Ellis

I’m very apprehensive about reading this as my ex-boyfriend read Less Than Zero and even his very brief summary of the plot creeped me out. So why did I buy this? I like the bright pink spine. What an idiot I am.

 

My predictions tell me that We Have Always Lived in the Castle will be finished within hours of getting my hands on a copy whereas Kavalier and Clay will be gathering dust on my shelf for years before I eventually start it.

Have you read any of these? Any I should be starting immediately? Any that won’t be worth the bother?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Ten most recent additions to my TBR list

    1. That’s definitely the impression I’ve got from your reviews. I can’t remember if you’ve said – have you read Anna Karenina? How does it compare? Because I loved Anna Karenina

      Like

      1. I have and I loved it too. The nice thing about Anna Karenina is that there aren’t so many battle scenes or long tangents about the nature of history. Having said that War And Peace is surprisingly easy to read and the characters are wonderful. I think I prefer it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my God. You just made my day, no my year. Did I really help you get into Rainbow Rowell? I feel like my book blogging goals have officially been accomplished! 😀

    I never read Glamorama, but Less Than Zero probably wasn’t for me. There were sentences I loved here & there, but there was one specific scene that creeped me involving these kids watching really disturbing sexual acts on a tv. The movie has more of a plot, & I guess it’s more blockbuster-ish, but I liked it more.

    Let us know how you like Generation X, it’s been on my Goodreads TBR for some time now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep that was all down to you and seriously I owe you big for that one! Eleanor and Park was one of my favourite books of last year and I am chomping at the bit to read Carry On.

      Yep that’s the exact scene that I had described to me and nope, not for me. Hopefully Glamarama won’t be anywhere near so messed up

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

