Top Ten Tuesdays: My Spring TBR List

IMG_9641

Here we go again. Another Top Ten Tuesday TBR list.

I’m a sucker for making TBR lists that I never ever stick to. And much like all those before it (all 1, 2, 3, 4 of them) I’m sure in three months’ time I will have made not an iota of progress with it.

But I just really love making lists so what you gonna do.

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

I’ve been a little disappointed with the twists at the end of all the murder mysteries I’ve read recently. And although I’m quite vocal about my general dislike for Agatha Christie I feel like she should be able to give me a good twist in this, her must famous book. But this has been shunted from TBR list to TBR list for years so the odds of it getting read are slim to none.

 

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

Only Ever Yours by Louise O'Neill

Based on past experience it would seem that books I buy on a whim either get read within weeks of me buying them, or get ignored for years. And we’re about to pass into that second category with this book. Which would be a pity as I was really excited by the premise and the reviews when I first picked it up. I don’t read many, if any, books set in dystopian futures and this had a feminist edge that I really like the sound of.

 

Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

During spring I will be heading for a weekend in New York and I’ve got this book pegged in the back of my mind as a good one to read on the plane. As I think for a book this size I’ll need to be trapped in a metal cage, hundreds of miles away from any alternatives to actually find the motivation to start it. It’s main appeal to me is that it’s Seth Cohen’s favourite book (that’s an OC reference for anyone not in the 20 to 30 age bracket) but it’s also set in New York and I believe follows two friends who write a graphic novel about escaping Nazi rule in Eastern Europe. Oh and it won the Pulitzer Prize, so it really ought to be good.

 

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

I know this book will be super easy to read – not only is it by Jeffrey Eugenides but it’s about a girl writing a thesis on Jane Austen and George Eliot, two of my all-time favourite authors, so it’s practically my perfect book –but whenever I’m choosing my next read I skim over this one as though it’s going to be hard work.

 

Shirley by Charlotte Bronte

Shirley by Charlotte Bronte with chocolate biscuits

War and Peace aside, my reading this year has been woefully contemporary. Something by a Bronte sister would balance that out nicely. And the blurb to this particular Bronte novel gets me really excited – a witty, spirited heroine (thought maybe to be based on her sister, Emily) who challenges the limitations placed on unmarried women in the Victorian era.

 

Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery

Anne of Avonlea with breakfast and sunflower

I have no doubt that every single page of this sequel to Anne of Green Gables will put a smile on my face. Because Anne just does that to people. But have I seriously considered actually reading it yet? No, of course not. The cover just screams spring-time read to me though so onto this list it goes.

 

And to make things just a little more manageable for myself I’m completing the ten with four books that are currently languishing around my flat half-finished. I really need to get to the end before I forget everything I’ve read so far.

 

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Oh my god it’s so long! I feel like I’m never going to finish this. I allowed myself a break so I could remember that reading is supposed to be enjoyable which did work, but has now made it about ten times harder to dive back into the Russian epic that never ends.

 

Brave New World by Adolus Huxley

There I was mere minutes ago saying that I never read dystopian fiction when I’m actually halfway through this dystopian classic, set in a future where people are bred and raised by the state, worshipping the almighty Henry Ford. I would class my enjoyment of this book so far as medium. Which is not an encouraging level when I’ve still got so much of it to go. It’s interesting, just not exactly gripping.

 

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

I think I started this book at the wrong time. It takes a very precise kind of mood for me to fancy a nonfiction read and I just wasn’t in it wholeheartedly when I started this. So however funny and relatable all her essays and observations on life as a 20-something woman might be, it’s just not doing it at the moment.

 

The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory

Definitely not my favourite of her books but it’s a Philippa Gregory, so it’s not exactly taxing. This one follows the reign of Kateryn Parr, Henry VIII sixth and final wife, who so far seems like a bit of a feminist icon and maybe more should be made of her in general. She was actually the first queen to publish. However, the biggest thing this book has going against it is that it’s a very nice looking and very heavy hardback so I’m unwilling to chuck it into my mess of a handbag and take it out places with me. And out at work, on bus journeys or in cafes is where the majority of my reading gets done.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: My Spring TBR List

  1. I don’t have terribly organized TBR lists outside of TTT. I make a list of books I can get from the library, and add them to my hold list a few at a time, with any new acquisitions from an email my library sends out weekly getting added in. Since the library wants them back, they do generally get read!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the need to get them back to a library would be a good motivator for me!

      I don’t think I could live without TBR lists even if I don’t stick to them. But interesting to hear how you organise your reading. And I’d love a library that sent out email updates!

      Like

      1. I did indeed and it coincided pretty much exactly with the Battle of Borodino and all those long chapters about history and power etc etc. There was one occasion when I decided that the only way I would get through the next chapter was to skim read it or I’d have given up altogether. I think all you can do is keep plugging away at it as best you can and don’t waste too much time worrying about the hard bits. They aren’t the bits you’ll remember at the end!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Mines come after the Battle of Moscow. I was afraid you were going to say just keep going! I wanted you to tell me to take a break! But I know your right, I’ll pick it back up this weekend

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

