This month I’ve been…

The impossible has happened. In March I have read as many books as I’ve bought (insert Hallelujah Chorus here). It may not look like it from the pictures above but that’s only because Carry On had to be returned to the library before I got a chance to take the photo.

And along with finishing those four, I’m a solid third into The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides, so that’s practically like having read more than I’ve bought and I think I’m coming over all faint at the mere thought.

Of the four books I’ve finished Station Eleven is the clear winner of the Best Book prize. And as soon as I convince myself to sit down and review it you can all hear why. But in the meantime just trust me when I say that it is well worth your money and time.

My book haul (can you still even call it a haul when it’s only four books?) are all second hand, of course, and all so far unread. The Universe versus Alex Woods and The Hangman’s Daughter were both bought on pure whims, I know absolutely nothing about them. But The Hangman’s Daughter in particular I am really looking forward to reading as the premise sounds intriguing and I’ve never read anything set that far in the past or in that part of the world.

The Sherlock Holmes collection was bought for almost purely shallow reasons – the cover is incredibly pretty. And The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared is the first book I’m reading for the book club I joined this month. That’s right, an actual social activity with real people where we just get to sit and talk about books; I could not be any more excited at the thought. Haven’t actually started the book yet or anything though, let’s not get carried away.

And now that books are out the way, general life news is a bit thin on the ground this month; I don’t think anything of significance has happened at all. Unless you’d count taking charge of my money and actually changing bank account significant. I joke but I am really proud of myself for doing that. It’s such a sensible, adult kind of thing to sit down of an evening and really look at your finances. Boring as hell but sometimes that’s just what you’ve gotta do.

Oh and I’ve also taken up jogging. No one is more surprised at this turn of events than me, someone how hasn’t run since PE in Year 11 when we used to have to do laps of the field anytime the teacher was absent. But In a Dark Dark Wood made running sound like such a relaxing, therapeutic thing to do, so I had a go. And three weeks in I’m already kind of addicted. But I’m getting ahead of myself; I do have a habit of losing interest in things after a month or so, this blog being the only notable exception.

Which reminds me, I have some blog news to share. For a while I’ve been very aware that I’ve drifted from being a book blog to a more general lifestyle blog that just happens to feature a lot of posts about books. And I’m alright with that as the more variety I have at my disposal the easier I’ll find it to keep my motivation going. But it does make the blog title – Lizzy Reads Books – a little misleading. I’m trying to think of a new title but turns out I’m pretty unimaginative and everything I’ve come up with so far is just a blatant rip-off of someone else’s idea. But keep your eyes peeled and be prepared for a change. The layouts changed too but that was just me having a bit of fun one afternoon, wanting something more modern and interactive, where I could showcase some of my favourite posts from the archives. So after trialling pretty much every theme WordPress offers (sorry if you accidentally clicked on my blog while I was still in beta stage – it did look a right mess for an hour or so there) I have settled on Toujour, which is apparently designed for people planning weddings but it works great for me.

Now let’s bring on April and all its spring-themed delights.

3 thoughts on “This month I’ve been…

  1. Omg we’re the same! We have read 3 books! 😂 I wish I could’ve read more books but school works are always getting out of the way. This is a great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

