Recipe: A hugely inauthentic Mexican brunch

I feel a bit of a fraud calling this a recipe because it’s not really a recipe – it’s just three things that happen to go really well together. Poaching an egg does not require a recipe (and if it did I should be the last one to provide one as they are my cooking kryptonite), guacamole can be store bought and sweetcorn fritters already have a recipe from a previous post of mine.

But they just make such a delicious combination that I couldn’t resist.

Sweetcorn fritters with guacamole and a poached egg

And as it happens, I did home-make my guacamole on this occasion, although only because Asda for some reason did not have any ready-made for sale. They had tzatziki, they had salsa, they had every flavour of hummus imaginable, but no guacamole. But unless you happen to shop in a similarly ill-stocked and anti-guacamole supermarket, do not feel you have to make it yourself. Saying that it was a lot less of a faff and required way fewer non-store cupboard ingredients than I would have expected. In fact the only thing I had to buy special was the avocado and at £1 for an avocado it probably worked out cheaper than buying it ready made. So I’ve talked myself around – it is a good idea to make guacamole yourself.

Homemade guacamole

If you’re the kind of fancy person who whips up a savoury brunch on a Sunday morning then this would be a slightly different but really good option. Me, if I’m having brunch, I’m having pancakes so I see it as more of a lunch option. But whatever works for you.

The next day I reheated the leftovers for dinner but was out of eggs so replaced the poached egg with some fried feta. I always get a bit like that with my meals on Saturday and Sunday – I’ve got so much time on my hands that I get it into my head to cook something fancy and so far beyond my capabilities that it’s a complete disaster and more often than not ends with my crying on the floor before eating biscuits for dinner. But miraculously that was not the case this time. Fried feta = pretty damn good.

Just not with this meal.

I could claim it was because the fritters didn’t reheat very well, or because the guacamole wasn’t as fresh, but really it was just because what was I thinking putting a Greek cheese with an otherwise Mexican dish? I mean really Lizzy, get a grip. So the recipe for the fried feta can wait until I’ve worked out what it actually goes with.

Fried feta with guacamole
Fried feta – a good idea, just not with this meal!

Serves 2 as a brunch or lunch

Ingredients for the guacamole

1 ripe avocado

6 cherry tomatoes, finely chopped

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

Small bunch of coriander, chopped

Salt and pepper

Juice of a lime

 

Ingredients for the sweetcorn fritters

2 eggs

4 tbsp milk

50g self-raising flour

25g cornflour

Salt and pepper

165g tin of sweetcorn, drained

2 spring onions, finely sliced

2 tbsp cooking oil

 

Ingredients for the poached egg

2 eggs (who would have thunk it)

 

Method

For the guacamole, scrape out the insides of the avocado and depending on how ripe it is chop it up or mush it with the back of a spoon.

Add the tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, coriander, seasoning and lime, mixing well together and store in the fridge.

Make the fritters by cracking the eggs into a large jug and whisking in the flours and seasoning. Once smooth add the sweetcorn and spring onions.

Heat 1 tbsp of the oil in a frying pan over a high heat and once really hot add the batter a ladleful at a time. Once the batter starts to bubble around the edges (3-4 minutes) flip over. Wrap the fritters in foil to keep warm as you cook the next, making four in total.

Poach an egg using whatever method works for you (and if you could let me know any tips in the comments so mine stop being quite so disastrous I’d be eternally grateful).

Serve immediately with some extra hot sauce if you’re feeling brave.

Leave a Reply

