Would you rather….

Birthday

I was tagged by the rather lovely CupOfTeaWithThatBookPlease (what a great sentiment for a blog title – I only wish I’d thought of it) to do the ‘would you rather’ book tag. And seen as I’m a little low on inspiration at the moment I couldn’t wait (although I’m also a little low on time so there’s has been a week or so’s delay).

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

Nice easy one to start off – standalones. I don’t read a lot of trilogies. I actually off the top of my head can’t think of a single trilogy I have read.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

As much as I love Ian McEwan, Thomas Hardy, Leo Tolstoy et al I read a lot more female authors and a much higher proportion of my favourite books are by female authors. Asking me to give up female authors is asking me to give up Jane Austen and I am not prepared to do that.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

I’m not aware of any Barnes and Nobles in the UK so I’ll take that to just mean bookshops in general which makes it really tough. Because my first choice would be a second hand book shop – you can come across some real unexpected treasures in a second hand book shop. I also find high street bookshops a bit limiting in their range so I suppose I’ll have to pick Amazon.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

TV shows. You can dedicate so much more time to a book in a TV show than a movie and it’s always the way films rush through the plot that puts me off book-to-film adaptations.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Well obviously I’d rather read five books a week but I just don’t have that kind of time on my hands.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

I’d rather be an author but I’ve got no chance. I live in awe of people who can write fiction. Being able to invent a complete world and fill it with three dimensional characters the reader can get truly emotionally attached to is a skill that I just don’t have. So for practical reasons I’d have to be a reviewer.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

I’ve worked in a shop before and I was very uncomfortable with the idea of having to ‘sell’ people things. So I wouldn’t want to corrupt my enjoyment of reading by selling books. Plus a librarian seems like the kind of relaxed, old-fashioned job I could really enjoy.

Would you rather only read your favourite genre, or every other genre but your favourite?

First off I’ve got to decide what my favourite genre is. If classics is a genre then I guess that’s it and as much as I think I would struggle to read only classics I would hate to never read classics.

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

Physical books. No question. I have a few ebooks on my phone for those nightmarish days when I forget my book but I still own the physical version of every ebook I own. I just love seeing lines of bookshelves filling a room.

And I will be tagging….

Alysyn from Rein Reads

Danielle from Fifteen Thousands Pages

Leave a Reply

