Top 10 Tuesday: My Autumn TBR list


Top 10 Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish which I always think looks like great fun but I barely ever actually get round to! But this week’s topic of my Autumn TBR seemed manageable and here it is…

First off I should say that there is absolutely no way at all that I will stick to this. Not a chance. At all. And even if I did try I think 10 books might be a bit optimistic for me with my current reading pace.

I pick my next book based on what I’m in the mood for at that exact moment. So these are simply predictions of things that I could believe I might be in the mood for. Maybe. But probably not.

1. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

I’ve actually already started this and although I wouldn’t so far say I’m enjoying it as much as The Virgin Suicides it’s good enough to keep me coming back.

2. The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

I spent last night doing lots of those ‘The 100 books you need to read to be well-read’ and turns out I’m no where near as cultured as I thought. So a lot of these choices are based from that, this included.

3. Brave New World by Adolus Huxley

And this…

4. 1984 by George Owell

And this…

5. Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

And this, which is a contender for longest standing member of the TBR list.

6. The Children Act by Ian McEwan

It has been too long since I last read an Ian McEwan. My binge earlier this summer put me off for a while but I think it’s time to get back on that horse.

7. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

I really want to like Agatha Christie. I like the idea of liking Agatha Christie. But it just hasn’t happened yet. However, I will not admit defeat until I’ve at least read this one.

8. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I will read this! I will!

9. In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

I’ve never read any Judy Blume but I know she’s kind of a big deal in America and when I found this second hand I thought I might as well.

10. Under the Greenwood Tree by Thomas Hardy

I really love Thomas Hardy and he’s definitely a contender for one of my favourite authors so I think it’s high time I read another of his books.

And now I can look back on this list in a few months time and know I’ve read not one of these!

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: My Autumn TBR list

  1. Middlesex is so great!! The Virgin Suicides is on my Fall TBR list — did you enjoy it a lot? I think I read it when I was (way too) young, so I’m revisiting it.

    I’m totally with you on liking the idea of liking Agatha Christie. Murder on the Orient Express has been on my bookshelf for like a decade, still unread.

    Like

    1. I LOVED The Virgin Suicides but so far I’m finding Middlesex very different! Have you read The Marriage Pact? I’m really looking forward to that one.

      Clearly there’s something about Agatha Christie then! She just seems like such a good wintery read but every time I try I just find it so dated

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read The Marriage Pact yet, but I have a copy on my bookshelf and I’ve heard great things. He’s such a great writer to be able to write well about such a diverse array of topics.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment